#MusicMonday: Epic Songs

music-mondays-epic-songs-banner

This week we’re sharing our favorite EPIC SONGS! The word ‘epic’ gets thrown around a lot, but these songs exemplify that huge, sweeping dramatic sound that gets your blood pumping and your imagination soaring. Let these songs help you to dream big, write that climactic scene, or slay that scariest of foes: Monday.

NICOLE:

This is purely due to my excitement for this game. Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey was AMAZING and now you’re giving me a Viking setting? YES PLEASE.


MEREDITH:

Seven Nation Army (cover) by SKÁLD

Ok I know, I’ll shut up about SKÁLD soon, but this one is so brilliant, and it’s another example of a cover that I like better than the original! (See also most of Pentatonix’s covers. . .) This one is such a genius adaptation with that same heart-pounding baseline and percussion, but here it’s enhanced by the insane bass-chorus of Viking dudes and drums, and a few cleverly changed lyrics to boost the Norse creds. Not to mention the verse in Old Norse by the bass singer! I share Nicole’s love for this band, and I can’t wait to see what they do next.

Mo Ghille Mear (My Gallant Hero) by The Choral Scholars of University College Dublin

So my cousin sent me this out of the blue, as one of his favorite writers tweeted about it, and holy cow did it knock my socks off the first time I heard it! It’s such a brilliant arrangement, with the quiet soloist starting it off, and then when the bodhrán drum kicks in, and the whole choir joins? CHILLS. It’s a rousing old Irish folk song with a touch of sadness (like all Irish songs), and the Gaelic is so gorgeous. This definitely has an epic vibe to it, and I think it will inspire lots of scenes for me in the future.

JOYCE:

The Drift – Blackmill

Nothing like some Blackmill to set the mood for an epic fantasy or dystopian novel! It sounds like it belongs in a fantasy video game, too. I’ve had it on a loop while working on my WiP, a YA dystopian I’m juggling with another manuscript for NaNoWriMo (speaking of which, who’s deep in the trenches of NaNo right now? How’s the progress?).

Let us know what your favorite EPIC music is! Is it one particular track? Or is it a whole album of something? We’d love to hear from you.


Leave a comment